Christmas comes early for Miss Supranational 2013 Mutya Johanna Datul!

Parang panaginip! Nu’ng una hindi po ako makapaniwala na ako yung nanalo. I had to ask one of the Miss Supranational staff, ‘Can you pinch me?’ so kinurot niya ako!” shares the new Miss Supranational, 21-year-old Mutya Johanna Datul. She has brought pride to the country by being the first Filipina, and first Asian, to bag the Supranational crown.

 

Tears oj Joy! Mutya during her Victory Presscon at Gloria Maris Banquet Hall.

Tears oj Joy! Mutya during her Victory Presscon at Gloria Maris Banquet Hall.

 

Mutya Johanna’s win marks the first international pageant for this year’s Binibining Pilipinas winners. The Binibining Pilipinas pageant is celebrating 50 beautiful years of producing stunning, intelligent, and charming beauty queens.

 

Immediately after the win, Mutya Johanna called her older sister to share the happy news. “My family was very happy for my win. They watched on live streaming. Nung in-announce yung first runner up, parang nalanta daw sila, kasi ang dami pa naming hindi natatawag doon. Tapos nung tinawag na yung Miss Philippines na nanalo, sobrang gulat na gulat sila, nagtatatalon daw sila!

 

Our Mutya is Back!

Our Mutya is Back!

‘Ultimate dream’ reached

Mutya Johanna has always said that it has always been her dream to become a beauty queen and to represent the country in an international competition. When she went to Belarus, she took this responsibility of representing the country to heart—she never forgot that she was there as Miss Philippines, and not just Mutya Johanna. “Every day hindi ako napapagod mag-ayos, kasi every time we have an activity kung saan maraming makakakita sa amin, ang makikita nila sa akin, yung sash ng Miss Philippines—I have to look my best kasi alam ko na I’m representing the image of the Philippines,” she says.

 

By winning the Miss Supranational crown, the 5’8” stunner has now achieved her dream, something that she never hesitated to let the pageant judges know. “During the panel interview the day before the pageant, they asked us to tell something about ourselves, and why we want to become Miss Supranational. I told them, ‘I want to become Miss Supranational because this is my ultimate dream. I want to become an ambassadress. I want to become a good example and be an inspiration to many. I promise to do my best, to pour my heart into it so I can do all my responsibilities as Miss Supranational.’” Her sincere, straightforward answer, combined with her winning smile, won the judges’ hearts.

 

EMOTIONAL! Mutya became emotional when she saw her parents and siblings during her victory press conference.. "Para po sa inyo to" she said!

EMOTIONAL! Mutya became emotional when she saw her parents and siblings during her victory press conference.. “Para po sa inyo to” she said!

Onstage, Mutya Johanna exuded confidence and charm that caught the attention of everyone in the Sports Palace in Minsk. When asked what thoughts were running through her mind as she sashayed in her swimsuits and evening gowns on stage, Mutya says, “Parati kong iniisip yung advice sa akin ni Ariella (Arida, Miss Universe Philippines 2013): na makukuha ko ang korona! And it worked! Even backstage, when they asked kung ano’ng meron ako, I said, ‘I believe in myself and my ability. On stage, I will be focused; I will think that I own the stage, that I will own the crown.’”

 

First time abroad

Her trip to Belarus was Mutya Johanna’s first trip out of the country. The three weeks she spent in Belarus were not only packed with pageant rehearsals, photo shoots, and interviews; her itinerary was also filled with visits to various landmarks around the host country. Among the places she visited were the National Library of Belarus, where she donated a book on the Philippines; the Krynica Factory, which makes beer, jelly desserts, and bread; the Nesvizh and Mirsky Castles, both of which are UNESCO World Heritage Sites; the Bialowieza Forest near the Polish border; the Brest Fortress, an important Soviet World War II monument; and the St. Sophia Cathedral in Polotsk.

 

Mutya with fellow Supranationals with Belarusian Masco

Mutya with fellow Supranationals with Belarusian Masco

But when asked what her most favorite part of the sightseeing tour was, Mutya Johanna enthusiastically shares their trip to Santa Claus’ home. “Yung pinaka-favorite ko po dun sa mga binisita naming sites, yung bahay ni Santa Claus. Sobrang natuwa ako, naramdaman ko yung feeling na parang naging bata ako ulit! I really waited for my turn so I can have my picture taken with Santa Claus,” she says.

 

Happy and thankful

As Mutya Johanna comes back home to the Philippines, she is very happy and grateful for everyone who supported and believed in her. “First, sobrang thankful po ako kay God, because He was the one who really made this win possible—He gave me all the people who helped me reach my dream. I’m thankful to my BPCI family, especially to Madam Stella Marquez Araneta. Lahat ng advice niya sa akin, ginawa ko nung pageant. I’m also very thankful to my family. They have always been very supportive, and yung mga messages nila sa akin nakatulong sa pagpapalakas ng loob ko. Thank you also to my friends, and sa lahat ng mga Pilipino na sumusuporta sa akin. This win is for the Philippines!”

 

Mutya on her Victory walk

Mutya on her Victory walk

The Binibining Pilipinas 2013 is presented by the Araneta Center, ABS-CBN, and Creamsilk, and in cooperation with PAGCOR, San Miguel Corporation, and Avon. Major sponsors are JAG, Manhattan Garden City, Philippine Airlines, EDSA Shangri-La Hotel, Manila Bulletin, and Pizza Hut. Service sponsors are Charter Ping An Insurance Corporation, David’s Salon, Gold’s Gym, Picture City, Dale Carnegie Training, Entrepreneurs School of Asia, Joylong, and Philippine Daily Inquirer.

