Grendel Alvarado is Miss Asia Pacific World Philippines!

I was almost clueless about the event before heading for the presscon  in the Lounge in Tomas Morato thru the invite of Ruel Canlas (media coordinator of the event) ,the organizer wants to surprise the members of the media about the event. It turned out that the event was a presscon and send off of Miss Asia Pacific World Philippines Grendel Alvarado.

For the past several months, local organizers have been quietly screening potential ladies who can be the country’s best representative to the prestigious “Miss Asia Pacific-World” beauty pageant. And finally, after careful planning and serious deliberation process, top model Grendel Alvarado will fly to Korea to compete for the coveted crown.

 

Off to Korea!

Grendel was chosen by Philippine franchise holder of Miss Asia Pacific World because of her versatility on the ramp, after conquering the Phillippine satge thu the Philippines Next Top Model – a Philippine franchise of Tyra Banks top model search America’s Next Top Model, she is now ready to conquer the international stage.

 

Apart from her very “Pinay” beauty, Alvarado’s edge over other girls (who were screened) is her ability to communicate and express herself well. But how did she make it? “I went to the final screening and was interviewed by a panel of MAPW local organizers. After several weeks, I was told by my agent that I got the part.”

 

Grendel answering the questions from the press..

Touted to be the 5th biggest global beauty pageant in terms of scope and number of candidates fielded each year, the “Miss Asia Pacific-World” of MAPW search aims to discover women from all over the world who are not only beautiful but talented as well. According to MAPW local project director Egay Cubelo, what makes it different from other international pageants is its unique concept, “Aside from searching for the most beautiful woman in the world, we give huge emphasis on girl’s innate talents in dancing and singing. The major titleholder, along with the Top Seven finalists, will be given an international career not only in modeling but in showbiz as well,” Cubelo enthused.

 

The statuesque beauty said that she’s not pressured at all in flying to Korea this month. But she is very overwhelmed to be chosen as the country’s official representative. “To say the least, it’s really a big honor for me to be chosen as official candidate because I have never joined any international beauty pageant. No, I don’t feel pressured at all. If I let the pressure get in the way, I will gain nothing but fear and other emotional drawbacks. For me, it’s just an idea to keep me from hitting the mark,” she said. Spoken like a true beauty queen. No wonder, she was adjudged grand winner in “Philippines’ Next Top Model” local competition held a couple of years back.

From the ramp to pageant stage.. 

In person, Grendel looks very fit and healthy considering how taxing her modeling job requires. But what people want to know is how she’s preparing for the big pageant, “I make sure that I get the right amount of exercise, sun, nutrition and of course LOVE. I believe that these things are what I need to keep myself spiritually, physically, mentally and emotionally balanced. The competition will take place for almost a month and I need to make sure that I get my mojo in the right place.”

 

A certified vegan, Grendel uses only natural and organic products on the body as her beauty regimen. She sees to it that she removes her make-up before going to sleep and drink at least eight glasses of water a day. Likewise, she avoids using beauty products that have harmful effects on the skin.  “I only put make up when needed to. I eat lots of fruits and vegetables to nourish my complexion, organs and body.”

 

Grendel will leave the country on May 24 to join the rest of eighty-plus expected foreign delegates from all over the world. The “Miss Asia-Pacific World” Coronation Night is slated on June 16, 2012 to be held at the posh Song Do Convensia in South Korea .

 

The first time I met Grendel was during the Binibining Pilipinas 2011 screening, but she did not continue because of some technical issues, her Binibini fate was like of Sandra Seifert’s case. After Binibini disqualification, Sandra joined and won the Miss Philippines Earth and eventually declared as 1st runner up on her international contest, will Grendel follow her footstep?

This year, series of competitions will be held in three countries, China, Korea and Japan.

 

MAPW Philippines organizers

For the more information about the pageant,  you can check its websiteor  Facebook account @ “Miss Asia Pacific-World Pageant & Talent Competition” to see photos of other candidates.

Goodluck Grendel!

=ASKI=

